Advertising
anchor link to jump to start of content

The Seattle Times Company NWclassifieds NWsource seattletimes.com
seattletimes.com Home delivery Contact us Search archives
Your account  Today's news index  Weather  Traffic  Movies  Restaurants  Today's events
  NWCLASSIFIEDS
  NWSOURCE
  SHOPPING
  SERVICES





Saturday, August 07, 2004 - Page updated at 12:00 A.M.

Northwest Sports Briefing
Notebook: Segadelli returning to coach at Woodinville


E-mail E-mail this article
Print Print this article
Print Search archive
Most read articles Most read articles
Most e-mailed articles Most e-mailed articles

Woodinville High School didn't have to look far to find a qualified candidate to take over its girls basketball program. Steve Segadelli, a highly successful boys basketball coach, has been teaching at Woodinville for the past 17 years.

"I'm jumping back into the fires," said Segadelli, who has been out of coaching for 12 years, although he was involved in summertime Select Team coaching.

This will be his first shot at coaching girls basketball. He replaces Mike Cooney, who resigned after coaching the Falcons for four years and compiling a 30-52 record.

Segadelli, 55, coached boys basketball at Bishop Blanchet in Seattle for 10 years, then was the boys basketball coach at Woodinville for five years.

At Blanchet, Segadelli's teams won three Metro League championships and made four trips to the state tournament. He left Blanchet after his 1987 team beat Snohomish for third place as Metro League schools finished one-two-three in the AAA tournament.

Segadelli was named KingCo coach of the year in 1988 at Woodinville.

He teaches physical education and health at Woodinville.

Notes

Nick Batkoski and Shawn Lindsay each had two hits and Tim Lincecum gained the pitching victory as the Seattle Studs beat the Lake Havasu Heat of Arizona in the NBC World Series in Wichita, Kan. The Studs, who are 2-0 in the national semipro tournament, play today against Pueblo, Colo.
 
advertising
Michael Putnam of University Place won the 38th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship by sinking a 6-foot birdie putt on the second hole of a three-man playoff at the Eugene Country Club. Putnam, who will be a senior at Pepperdine this fall, finished in a tie at 277 with New Mexico's Spencer Levin and Australian amateur Andrew Martin.

Washington teammates Erik Olson and James Lepp tied for seventh place at 282.

• Top-seeded Michael Kogan joined Daniel Chu, Jaroslav Bulant and Victor Romero as quarterfinal winners are the 114th Washington State Open tennis tournament at the Seattle Tennis Center.

Top-seeded Kristina Kraszewski, Stacy McKenna and Story Tweedie-Yates were women's quarterfinal victors.

Washington State Open

At Seattle Tennis Club

Men's Open Singles (Quarterfinals)

Daniel Chu (5) beat Ryan Pang, 6-2, 6-3; Jaroslav Bulant (2) beat Eric Drew (8), 6-3, 6-0; Michael Kogan (1) beat Jesse Walter, 6-2, 6-3; Victor Romero (3) beat Jeremy Berman, 6-0, 6-4

Women's Open Singles (Quarterfinals)

Stacy McKenna (2) beat Zelijka Vidic (5), 6-4, 6-0; Story Tweedie-Yates (3) beat Kasey Knox, 6-1, 6-1; Kristina Kraszewski beay Agela Fry, 6-1, 6-0

Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

At Eugene, Ore.

(Played at the 6,855 yard, par 71, Eugene Country Club)

Final round

277 — Michael Putnam, University Place, WA, 67-70-67-73; Andrew Martin, Melbourne, Australia, 71-67-71-68; Spencer Levin, Elk Grove, Calif., 66-71-70-70.

**(Putnam birdies second playoff for victory).

278 — Joe Lanza, Bainbridge Island, 74-65-69-70.

279 — Lindsay Bernakevitch, Vancouver, BC, 72-68-72-67.

280 — Craig Doell, Victoria, BC, 74-65-71-70.

282 — Erik Olson, Newcastle, Wash., 69-69-71-73; James Lepp, Abbotsford, BC, 71-73-66-72; Scott Gordon, Fair Oaks, Calif., 70-70-71-71.

283 — James Love, Calgary, 72-71-71-69.

284 — Ben Hayes, Paradise Valley, Ar, 69-71-71-73; Dustin Mills, Arvada, Colo., 70-74-71-69; Ryan Posey, Dallas, Texas, 72-69-71-72.

285 — Liam Kendregan, Gresham, Ore., 74-68-68-75; Ryan Carter, Hacienda Heights, C, 74-69-70-72.

287 — Casey Watabu, Kapaa, Hawaii, 73-71-74-69; Joshua Wooding, Riverside, Calif., 75-69-71-72.

289 — Cameron Martin, Eugene, Ore., 76-72-70-71; Ryan Keeney, Redmond, Wash., 70-70-71-78.

290 — Jason Bittick, Coto de Caza, Calif, 75-66-74-75; John Poucher, Santa Barbara, Cali, 71-74-72-73.

291 — Kevin Larsen, Santa Barbara, Cali, 71-71-76-73; Roy Moon, North Hills, Calif., 75-70-71-75.

292 — Adam Porker, Melbourne, Australia, 66-72-77-77; David Fern, Spokane, Wash., 75-68-77-72; Jake Ellison, St. George, Utah, 71-77-70-74; Kyle Stanley, Gig Harbor, Wash., 77-70-73-72.

293 — Brendan Steele, Idyllwild, Calif., 74-71-74-74; Kyle Hudson, Eugene, Ore., 76-73-71-73.

Hole-In-One

At Everett Legion G.C.

Michael Leon, No. 9, 160 yards, 8-iron

2004-05 Seattle Thunderbirds schedule

September

Sat. Sept. 25 — at Pr. George 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Sept. 26 — at Pr. George 6:30 p.m.
October

Fri. Oct. 1 — at Vancouver 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 2 — at Portland 7 p.m.
Tues. Oct 5 — at Kootenay 6 p.m.
Sat. Oct 9 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 15 — Kelowna 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 16 — at Everett 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 17 — Prince George 5:05 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 22 — at Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 23 — Vancouver 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 24 — Tri-Cities 5:05 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 29 — at Spokane 7 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 30 — Kamloops 7:05 p.m.
November

Wed. Nov. 3 — at Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 6 — at Portland 7 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 10 — at Vancouver 7 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 12 — at Spokane 7 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 13 — Vancouver 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 19 — Spokane 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 20 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 24 — Calgary 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 27 — Medicine Hat 7:05 p.m.
December

Fri. Dec. 3 — Kootenay 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 4 — at Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 5 — Swift Current 5:05 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 8 — at Kamloops 7 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 11 — at Regina 7 p.m.
Sun. Dec.12 — at Brandon 4 p.m.
Tues. Dec. 14 — at Moose Jaw 5 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 15 — at Saskatoon 5 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 17 — at Prince Albert 5:30 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 27 — Lethbridge 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 29 — Everett 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 31 — at Portland 5 p.m.
January

Sat. Jan. 1 — at Everett 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 5 — at Spokane 7 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 7 — Kelowna 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 8 — Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Tues. Jan. 11 — at Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 12 — Kootenay 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 14 — at Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 16 — at Vancouver 5 p.m.
Jan. 20 — at Prince George 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 22 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Tues. Jan. 25 — at Spokane 7 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 26 — Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 28 — Kamloops 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 29 — Everett 7:05 p.m.
February

Wed. Feb. 2 — Spokane 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 4 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 5 — at Everett 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 9 — Spokane 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 12 — Everett 7:05 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 16 — at Kelowna 7 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 18 — Red Deer 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 19 — at Portland 7 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 20 — Prince George 5:05 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 23 — at Kelowna 7 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 25 — at Kamloops 7 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 26 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 27 — Spokane 5:05 p.m.
March

Wed. Mar. 2 — Vancouver 7:05 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 5 — Everett 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 6 — at Portland 5 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 9 — Tri-Cities 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 11 — at Everett 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 13 — Spokane 5:05 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 16 — at Everett 7:05 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 18 — at Portland 7 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 19 — Portland 7:05 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 20 — Everett 5:05 p.m.

 

Copyright © 2004 The Seattle Times Company

E-mail E-mail this article
Print Print this article
Print Search archive

More high school sports headlines...

 SPORTS NEWS SEARCH
Today Archive

Advanced search

 
advertising

seattletimes.com home
Home delivery | Contact us | Search archive | Site map | Low-graphic
NWclassifieds | NWsource | Advertising info | The Seattle Times Company

Copyright

Back to topBack to top