Skip to main content

Originally published Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:53 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (0)
  • Print

Cascade's Jenkins, Kamiak's Stupey break records | Swimming roundup

A.J. Jenkins shattered a meet record in the 100-yard butterfly and also won the 200 freestyle at the Northwest 4A District championships.

Prep sports gear

Find your school. Custom t-shirts,
hoodies and more. Shop now!
Powered by Prep Sportswear

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
No comments have been posted to this article.
Start the conversation >


MUKILTEO — Cascade's A.J. Jenkins and Kamiak's John Stupey shattered meet records and Kamiak was a runaway champion at the Northwest 4A District boys swim championships at Kamiak High School on Saturday.

Jenkins won the 100-yard butterfly in 50.38 seconds, breaking Bryan Harvey's 2010 meet record for Snohomish (51.05). Jenkins also destroyed the field in the 200 freestyle, winning in 1:42.83, more than seven seconds faster than the runner-up.

Stupey broke the meet mark in the 200 individual medley (1:53.98) and also won the 500 free.

Another meet record fell in the 200 medley relay as Kamiak's Lee Shelby, Liam Sosinsky, Stupey and Eben Schumann won in 1:38.01 — more than a minute faster than the Knights' meet-record swim last year.

Sosinsky, the defending state champ in the 100 breaststroke, won his specialty in 57.48, a fraction of a second off his time in the finals at state last year.

Kamiak, the third-place finisher at state last year, won the team crown with 663.5 points. Lake Stevens (436.5) was runner-up and Cascade (326) was third.

Northwest 3A District

At Marysville-Pilchuck, Shorewood won a pair of relays and — despite no individual race winners — edged rival Shorecrest 529 points to 511 for the team championship. Carter Osborne (100 free, 200 free) and Grant Heisey (500 free, 200 IM) were double winners for the Scots.

Northwest 2A District

At Anacortes, Alec Barnard won the 50 free and 100 fly and his brother Austin won the 500 free for Archbishop Murphy, which won seven of 12 events in a runner-up effort. Four-time defending state Sehome (281 points) won comfortably over the Wildcats (237) and Anacortes (233). Stephen Boden took the 200 IM and Hunter Cosgrove won the 100 back for Archbishop Murphy, which also won a pair of relays.

West Central 2A District

At Hazen Pool, Benjamin Scott (100 back and 100 free) and James Scott (200 IM, 100 breast) each won two events and swam on two winning relays, helping Steilacoom edge Lindbergh for the team championship, 242 points to 222. Jaycob Davies of Washington was another double winner, in the 200 and 500 free.

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon

 Subscribe today!

Subscribe today!

99¢ for four weeks of unlimited digital access.



NDN Video