Skip to main content

Originally published March 14, 2014 at 7:42 PM | Page modified March 14, 2014 at 9:20 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (0)
  • Print

Former Husky Brandon Roy honored by Pac-12

Brandon Roy was one of 12 men’s basketball players inducted into the Pac-12’s Hall of Honor on Friday.

Seattle Times staff reporter

Get Adobe Flash player

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
No comments have been posted to this article.
Start the conversation >


LAS VEGAS – Former Washington basketball great Brandon Roy was one of 12 inductees who entered the Pac-12 Hall of Honor on Friday.

“Brandon was one of the greats who played in this conference,” said former UCLA guard Tyus Edney, who was also inducted Saturday. “What he did for Washington and not just the Huskies, but this conference, was incredible.

“He deserves to be in the Hall, no question about that.”

Roy, who was unable to attend the ceremony at the MGM Grand, joined a class that included Edney, Luke Walton (Arizona), Verl Heap (Arizona State), David Butler (California), Ken Charlton (Colorado), Frederick Jones (Oregon), Lee Harman (Oregon State), Mark Madsen (Stanford), Wayne Carlander (USC), Billy McGill (Utah) and Ed Gayda (Washington State).

Roy starred four years (2003-06) at Washington and finished his college career 14th on the school’s all-time scoring list with 1,477 points. He helped the Huskies to three NCAA tournament appearances, including a No. 1 seed in 2005 and back-to-back Sweet 16 appearances.

“I’m just so happy for Brandon,” Washington coach Lorenzo Romar said. “Brandon is the best I’ve ever coached. He was so intuitive as a basketball player. He impacted the game in so many ways.

“There will never be another like him.”

Roy became the 13th Husky to enter the Pac-12 Hall of Honor, which was founded in 2002. The other members: Bob Houbregs (2002), Marv Harshman (2003), James Edwards (2004), Jack Nichols (2005), Steve Hawes (2006), Christian Welp (2007), Louie Nelson (2008), Detlef Schrempf (2009), Eldridge Recasner (2010), Todd MacCulloch (2011), George Irvine (2012) and Nate Robinson (2013).

Percy Allen: 206-464-2278


On Twitter @percyallen

Four weeks for 99 cents of unlimited digital access to The Seattle Times. Try it now!

 Subscribe today!

Subscribe today!

99¢ for four weeks of unlimited digital access.



The Seattle Times

The door is closed, but it's not locked.

Take a minute to subscribe and continue to enjoy The Seattle Times for as little as 99 cents a week.

Subscription options ►

Already a subscriber?

We've got good news for you. Unlimited content access is included with most subscriptions.

Subscriber login ►