Skip to main content

Originally published November 26, 2012 at 5:29 PM | Page modified November 26, 2012 at 11:22 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments ((0))
  • Print

Washington cornerback Desmond Trufant named to Pac-12 first team

Huskies senior Desmond Trufant was the only UW or Washington State player named to the first team by the conference's football coaches.

Seattle Times staff reporter

No comments have been posted to this article.


Washington cornerback Desmond Trufant was the only Husky or Cougar named to the All-Pac-12 first team when the conference announced its end-of-season awards Monday.

The teams are selected by the conference's coaches.

Trufant, a senior from Tacoma, became the third UW player in three years named first team, joining linebacker Mason Foster in 2010 and running back Chris Polk in 2011. Trufant was a key part of a UW defense that ranked second in the conference against the pass.

Washington tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins was named to the second team, as were Washington State safety Deone Bucannon and Cougars kicker Andrew Furney.

Seferian-Jenkins was picked behind Stanford's Zach Ertz. Each has 63 catches. Ertz, a senior, has 818 receiving yards, and Seferian-Jenkins 791. They are among three finalists for the John Mackey Award, given annually to the best tight end in the country.

Ten Huskies received All-Pac-12 honorable mention — safeties Justin Glenn and Sean Parker, defensive linemen Andrew Hudson and Danny Shelton, linebackers Shaq Thompson, Travis Feeney and John Timu, running back Bishop Sankey, center Drew Schaefer and receiver Kasen Williams.

WSU had eight players named honorable mention — linebackers Travis Long, Cyrus Coen and Darryl Monroe, defensive lineman Xavier Cooper, defensive back Daniel Simmons, receiver Brett Bartolone, offensive lineman Elliott Bosch and returner Teondray Caldwell.

League awards: Offensive player of the year, receiver Marqise Lee, USC; Pat Tillman defensive player of the year, lineman Will Sutton, Arizona State; freshman offensive player of the year, quarterback Marcus Mariota, Oregon; freshman defensive player of the year, lineman Leonard Williams, USC; coach of the year, David Shaw, Stanford.

Bob Condotta: 206-515-5699 or On Twitter @bcondotta.

Relive the magic

Relive the magic

Shop for unique souvenirs highlighting great sports moments in Seattle history.