Skip to main content

Originally published Saturday, February 2, 2013 at 5:48 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (53)
  • Print

Russell Wilson finishes third for Rookie of Year award

Robert Griffin III, quarterback for the Washington Redskins, was named the Offensive Rookie of the Year, over Andrew Luck and the Seahawks' Russell Wilson.

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
Russell , We are so proud of you and how you carry yourself. MORE
I am not a Seahawks fan. However, Wilson is an intelligent player. He normally slides f... MORE
Being the gentleman that he is, Russell will extend acknowledgements to his peer QB's... MORE


NEW ORLEANS — Robert Griffin III, quarterback for the Washington Redskins, was named The Associated Press Offensive Rookie of the Year on Saturday.

Griffin received 29 votes. Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck received 11 votes and Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson had 10.

The awards are based on balloting from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL.

"All the competition for this award is extremely good," Griffin said. "It seems like the league's in good hands with the young quarterbacks."

Linebacker Luke Kuechly, Carolina's tackling machine, was named Defensive Rookie of the Year. He earned 28 votes to outdistance Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner, who had 11.

Adrian Peterson, who rushed for 2,109 yards just one year after major knee surgery, earned the Most Valuable Player award. Earlier, he was named Offensive Player of the Year. Houston defensive end J.J. Watt, who had 20 ½ sacks, won Defensive Player of the Year.

Bruce Arians became the first interim coach to win Coach of the Year honors. Arians took over in Indianapolis when coach Chuck Pagano was diagnosed with leukemia. The Colts were 9-3 under Arians, who is now coach at Arizona.

Parcells leads Hall class

NEW ORLEANS — Coach Bill Parcells, Warren Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The class of 2013 also included two senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson. The announcement was made in New Orleans, site of Sunday's Super Bowl.

Five players failed to get in on the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier Saturday, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon

Relive the magic

Relive the magic

Shop for unique souvenirs highlighting great sports moments in Seattle history.



NDN Video