The Seattle Times Company

NWjobs | NWautos | NWhomes | NWsource | Free Classifieds |


Our network sites | Advanced

Seahawks Blog

Danny O'Neil covers the Seahawks for The Seattle Times.

January 4, 2010 at 3:48 PM

Comments (0)     E-mail E-mail article      Print Print      Share Share

Seahawks' free agents

Posted by Danny O'Neil

Update at 4:22 p.m.: One follow-up, WR Nate Burleson is not currently on the list of free agents-to-be, and that's because the NFL Players Association database lists him with an agreement that runs through next season, but that's not actually the case. His contract is structured so that it voids after the Super Bowl is played. So add Burleson to the list of Seahawk free agents-to-be.

The complexion of free agency could be altered dramatically by what happens with the league's collective-bargaining agreement. If a new agreement is not reached by March, the requirement for entering unrestricted free agency would increase from four accrued season to six. The result? Five members of the Seahawks who are currently scheduled to become unrestricted free agents would become restricted. With that in mind, here is the breakdown of how Seattle's roster is situated going forward.

Unrestricted free agents: WR Nate Burleson, DL Cory Redding; LB D.D. Lewis; K Olindo Mare; S Lawyer Milloy; CB Ken Lucas; T Damion McIntosh; FB Justin Griffith.

Possible unrestricted free agents: G Rob Sims, OL Chris Spencer, DE Darryl Tapp, P Jon Ryan and LB Lance Laury. These five would be unrestricted free agents according to the current collective-bargaining agreement. However, the owners voted in 2008 to opt out of that agreement so if there is no new agreement before March, these five will be restricted free agents. Seattle could then make a one-year qualifying offer and have the right to match an offer sheet they might sign.

Restricted free agents: OL Brandon Frye, WR Ben Obomanu.

Note: According to the NFL Players Association record, LB David Hawthorne is unsigned beyond this year, however with only two accrued seasons in the NFL, he is not eligible to sign with any team other than the Seattle Seahawks.

E-mail E-mail article      Print Print      Share Share

No comments have been posted to this article.

Recent entries




Browse the archives

January 2010

December 2009

November 2009

October 2009

September 2009

August 2009