Skip to main content

Originally published Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 8:02 PM

  • Share:
  • Comments (0)
  • Print

Western Sports Star of the Year awards will be handed out Friday night

Finalists for the Pro Sports Star of the Year are Marshawn Lynch, Alex Morgan, Eddie Johnson, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Villopoto.

Seattle Times staff reporter

Seattle Sports Star of the Year

What: 78th annual MTR Western Sports Star of the Year

When: Friday, VIP reception and Sterling Bank silent auction, 5:30 p.m.; award show, 7:30 p.m.; after party at Hard Rock Cafe, 9:30 p.m.

Where: Benaroya Hall, 200 University St., Seattle

Tickets: $35 award show only; $80 award show and VIP reception; $100 premium award-show seating and VIP reception

More: To buy tickets or for information,

Most Popular Comments
Hide / Show comments
No comments have been posted to this article.
Start the conversation >


Friday night marks the 78th installment of a midwinter Seattle tradition — the MTR Western Sports Star of the Year awards night.

The event begins at 7:30 p.m. at Benaroya Hall and will be highlighted by the naming of the top local sports stars and stories of the year.

Among those expected to attend are former Mariner Edgar Martinez, former Sonics Spencer Haywood and Lenny Wilkens, Sounders general manager Adrian Hanauer, former WSU and NFL quarterback Drew Bledsoe and Washington play-by-play voice Bob Rondeau.

Finalists for the Pro Sports Star of the Year are Seahawks running back Marshawn Lynch, women's soccer star Alex Morgan, Eddie Johnson of the Sounders, NASCAR driver Kasey Kahne and supercross racer Ryan Villopoto.

Finalists for the Male Sports Star of the Year are UW football player Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Olympic swimmer Nathan Adrian, UW golfer Chris Williams, Washington Stealth lacrosse star Drew Snider and football player David DeCastro, a former Bellevue High standout now with the Steelers.

Finalists for the Female Sports Star of the Year are Olympic gold-medal rower Mary Whipple, Olympic swimmer Ariana Kukors, Washington cross country and track star Katie Flood, Olympic judo standout Marti Malloy and Olympic cyclist Jennie Reed.

Finalists for Sports Story of the Year are Felix Hernandez's perfect game, the Bellevue High football team winning a 10th state title, the Montesano High football team's improbable run to its first state title in 18 years, the UW men's rowing team's unbeaten season and the Western Washington men's basketball team's run to a Division II national title.

Winners are determined through online voting at

Others set to be honored are Hanauer as Sports Executive of the Year; Rondeau as the Keith Jackson Award winner; Martinez as the Royal Brougham Legend Award winner; Wilkens as the Paul Allen Award winner; and the late O'Dea High School baseball player Josh Dickerson as the Seattle Children's Inspirational Youth award winner.

Bob Condotta: 206-515-5699 or

News where, when and how you want it

Email Icon

Relive the magic

Relive the magic

Shop for unique souvenirs highlighting great sports moments in Seattle history.



NDN Video

The Seattle Times Historical Archives

Browse our newspaper page archives from 1900-1984